The Iowa Crime Victim Compensation Program helps victims with costs related to crime injuries. Program costs are paid entirely by criminal fines and fees, and not by Iowa 5 taxpayers.
WHO CAN GET HELP?
Victims who have been physically or emotionally injured in a violent crime in Iowa.
Victims of drunk driving, hit and run, reckless driving, vehicular homicide, or when a car is used as a weapon.
Survivors of a homicide victim.
A victim's spouse, children, parents, siblings, and persons residing in the victim's household at the time of the crime.
Iowans injured by violent crime in a state without a compensation program.
Iowans injured by an act of terrorism in a foreign country.
WHAT MUST I DO TO GET HELP?
You must report the crime to local law enforcement within 72 hours, unless there is an explanation why you could not.
You must file an application with the program within two (2) years from the date of the crime or show good cause for the delay.
You must cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement officers in their investigation or prosecution of the crime.
You must NOT have consented to, provoked, or incited the crime.
You must NOT have been assisting in, or committing a criminal act causing your injuries.
HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?
It can take 6 to 8 weeks to determine if you can be helped by the program. Payments will be made when all required information is received. Once payment has been made, our program does attempt to seek restitution from the offender unless it would threaten the safety of the victim.
WHAT COSTS MAY BE PAID?
The program can pay your crime related bills not covered by insurance or other sources. You may be helped with costs for:
Medical care needed for the victim's crime injuries (up to $15,000).
Medical expenses for crime-related care for survivors of a homicide victim (up to $3,000 per survivor).
Crime related counseling provided to a victim by a licensed psychologist, person holding at least a masters degree in social work or counseling and guidance or a victim counselor (up to $3,000).
Crime related counseling provided to a victim's spouse, children, parents, siblings, or persons residing in the primary victim's household at the time of the crime (up to $1,000 per secondary victim).
Grief counseling for the homicide victim's survivors (up to $3,000 per survivor).
Wages lost by the primary victim due to crime injuries (up to $6,000).
Lost wages for a homicide victim's survivors (up to
Wages lost by the primary victim's parent or caretaker when they accompany the victim to medical or counseling appointments (up to $1,000).
Wages lost by a primary victim, victim's parent or caretaker, or a homicide victim's survivor to attend criminal justice proceedings (up to $1,000).
Loss of support for dependents of deceased victims or victims who can't work for more than sixty days (up to $2,000 per person).
Replacement of clothing and bedding held as evidence by law enforcement (up to $100).
Funeral and burial costs for a homicide victim (up to $7,500).
Cleaning the crime scene in a home (up to $1,000).
YOU CANNOT BE PAID FOR PROPERTY LOSS OR REPAIR, LEGAL FEES, PHONE BILLS, MEALS, OR PAIN AND SUFFERING.
COMPLETE THE FORM AND RETURN TO THE COMPENSATION PROGRAM.
YOUR FORM WILL BE REVIEWED AND YOU MAY BE ASKED FOR MORE INFORMATION.
YOU DO NOT NEED TO HIRE A LAWYER TO RECEIVE PAYMENTS.