Board of Supervisors

Plymouth County Board of Supervisors

From the Left to the Right: Craig Anderson, John Meis, Don Kass,  Stacey Feldman Auditor, Gary Horton, Mike VanOtterloo

Term is four years; bond no less than $100,000.

The board of supervisors consists of five members, serving four years each.

The board of supervisors is the legislative body of the county.

The following are some of their more important duties and powers:

  • Approve bonds of county officials.
  • Establish and vacate public highways.
  • Levy taxes to raise revenue for county purposes.
  • Allow claims against the county and order same to be paid.
  • Fill vacancies in county offices, except of its own body.
  • Constitute a drainage board to the various districts of the county.
  • Make official canvass of the votes of the county at the primary and general election.

Vacancies in the board of supervisors are filled by appointment made by the county auditor, county treasurer and county recorder.

The Board of Supervisors hold regular meetings on the second secular day in January, the first Tuesday in April and the second Tuesday in June, September, and November, and adjourned meetings every Tuesday.

John Meis
Dist 1
716 4th Ave SE
Le Mars, IA  51031

Mike VanOtterloo
Dist 2
520 1st Ave SE
Le Mars, IA 51031

Don Kass
Board Chairman
Dist 3
48138 190th St
Remsen, IA 51050

Craig Anderson
Dist 4
24999 Jade Ave
Merrill, IA 51038

Gary Horton
Dist 5
850 Hardy St
Akron, IA 51001

To Email a board member please
click on the members name.

To email all board members


Craig Anderson
Workforce Development
E-911 Board
County Safety Board
SRTPA Board, Alternate
SIMPCO MPO & SIMPCO Executive Board
Woodbury Co. Assessor's Office Conference Board
Hungary Canyons AllianceBoard
Loess Hills Development & Conservation
I.P.A.I.T. Board
R.E.A.P. Board
Hazmat Board

Don Kass
R.E.A.P. Board (Alternate)
Sioux Rivers Mental Health Region Board
Mental Health Crisis Board
3rd Judicial District Dept. of Correctional Services
Mid Sioux Opportunity Board
Youth Emergency Services Board (YES Center)
Synergy Board, Alternate
Little Sioux Watershed Board
Plains Area Mental MH Board (Liason)

Mike VanOtterloo
Plymouth County EMA
Loess Hills Alliance Board Alternate
Sioux Rivers Mental Health Region Board
Synergy Board
Plymouth County Planning Council
Mental Health Crisis Board
Mental Health DECAT Board
Plymouth County Wellness
Life Skills Board

Gary Horton
Loess Hills Alliance Board
Siouxland Regional Housing Authority Board
Big Sioux Corridor Board
NW Early Childhood Iowa (Empowerment)
Siouxland Regional Transit Board
West Central Region Housing
Life Skills (Mid-Year Committee Member)
Plymouth County Landfill
Plymouth County Labor Negotiations Board

John Meis
E-911 Board, Alternate
SIMPCO, Alternate
Loess Hills Alliance Board
Floyd Valley Community Health Services Advisory Committee
LeMars Business Initiative Corp. (Liason)
Plymouth Co. Board of Health Planning Council
Plymouth County Labor Negotiations Board