Welcome to Plymouth County

map of IowaPlymouth County is located in the northwest corner of Iowa, with a population of 25,698 and 11 communities.  Plymouth County was formed on January 15, 1872, the county seat was moved to LeMars and a courthouse and jail were built there in 1873.  The present Plymouth County Courthouse was built in 1900 of red sandstone.

During the Great Depression, farmers in the county organized the Farmers Holiday Group, to keep farm products off the market until the desired price was met.  A radical group among them abducted Judge Bradley from his court chambers and threatened to hang him.  Bradley was freed, but the governor ordered the national guard to Plymouth County and declared a state of emergency , which effectively ended the group.

Plymouth County is administered by a five member Board of Supervisors who are elected to a four year terms.  Other elected offices include the Attorney, Auditor, Recorder, Sheriff and Treasurer.

The Following Holidays are recognized by the Plymouth County Courthouse employees and other County Departments.

Good Friday  Friday April 7th
Memorial Day - Monday May 29th
Independence Day - Tuesday July 4th
Labor Day - Monday September 4th
Veterans Day (Observed) - Friday November 10th
Thanksgiving Day - Thursday November 23rd
Day After Thanksgiving - Friday November 24th
Christmas Eve (Observed) - Monday December 25th
Christmas Day (Observed) - Tuesday December 26th
New Years Day - Monday January 1st 2024

There are other offices in the Courthouse that are State and not County Offices.  See the Clerk of Courts web page to find out what Holidays are recognized by the State Of Iowa.